Senate Agriculture Committee Advances CFTC Chairman Nominee Giancarlo

WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Senator Pat Roberts, R-Kan., Chairman of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, today announced the Committee voted to favorably report the nomination of J. Christopher Giancarlo to serve as Chairman of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC). Giancarlo may now be considered by the full U.S. Senate for confirmation.  

“I’m pleased our Committee has given the green light to full Senate consideration of Mr. Giancarlo’s nomination,” Roberts said. “As evidenced by his testimony at our recent hearing about his visits to numerous farms and livestock operations, Mr. Giancarlo demonstrates an understanding of and commitment to fostering a functional marketplace for all participants, and that most certainly includes folks in rural America.” 

The Committee held a hearing on Mr. Giancarlo’s nomination on June 22.  

Mr. Giancarlo has the support of a variety of organizations representing farmers, co-ops, grain dealers and millers, food processors, feed manufacturers and others stakeholders. 


Press Contact

Meghan Cline