Skip to content

Roberts, Stabenow Applaud Vote to Begin Farm Bill Conference, Appointment of Conferees

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senate Agriculture Committee Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kan., and Ranking Member Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., today are pleased the Senate has voted to move forward with the 2018 Farm Bill Conference Committee. The Senators also applauded the announcement of the Senators who will serve on the 2018 Farm Bill Conference Committee.

  • Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kan.
  • Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky.
  • Sen. John Boozman, R-Ark.
  • Sen. John Hoeven, R-N.D.
  • Sen. Joni Ernst, R-Iowa
  • Ranking Member Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich.
  • Sen. Patrick Leahy, D-Vt.
  • Sen. Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio
  • Sen. Heidi Heitkamp, D-N.D. 

“This strong group of Senate conferees knows how to work together on a bipartisan basis to get the Farm Bill across the finish line,” said Roberts and Stabenow. “We look forward to beginning the conference process so we can provide certainty to our farmers, families, and rural communities.”

On June 28, 2018, the U.S. Senate passed the 2018 Farm Bill on a strong bipartisan 86-11 vote – the most votes a Senate Farm Bill has ever received. The bipartisan 5-year legislation encompasses a broad array of agriculture, nutrition, conservation, and forestry policy. The Senate bill has the support of more than 500 groups representing thousands of agriculture, food, nutrition, hunger, forestry, conservation, rural, business, faith-based, research, and academic interests. Click here to read the legislation, summaries, and amendments.  

The Conference Committee will be composed of members of the U.S. House and Senate. The House conferees were announced earlier this month. A public meeting of the Conference Committee will be announced at a later date. 

Senate Farm Bill conferees