Roberts, Stabenow Applaud House Passage of Grain Standards Reauthorization

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kan., and Ranking Member Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., today applauded the House of Representatives for passing the U.S. Grain Standards Reauthorization Act of 2020. The legislation is now ready to be signed into law. 

The U.S. Grain Standards Reauthorization Act of 2020 passed out of The Senate Agriculture Committee on June 24 and the full Senate on November 16. The Senate-passed bill is available here. Click here to read the summary. Click here to read the section-by-section.

“I’m pleased the 2020 Grain Standards Reauthorization Act has quickly moved through both chambers of Congress to deliver certainty and predictability to the federal grain inspection system,” said Roberts. “I’m hopeful President Trump swiftly signs this legislation into law to ensure America can uphold its reputation as a dependable exporter of quality grain.” 

“Now more than ever, it is critical that we provide certainty for farmers,” said Stabenow. “We are one step closer to enacting this bipartisan legislation and protecting our credibility as a reliable producer of high-quality crops.” 

The U.S. Grain Standards Reauthorization Act of 2020 has wide industry support from national and state agriculture groups. Click here to read the letters of support.


Press Contact

Meghan Cline (Roberts): 202-224-2035

Jess McCarron (Stabenow): 202-224-1437