Roberts, Stabenow Announce Witnesses for Hearing on Commodities, Credit, Crop Insurance

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kan., and Ranking Member Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., today announced witnesses for the Committee’s upcoming hearing on commodities, credit, and crop insurance.


Title:     Commodities, Credit, and Crop Insurance: Perspectives on Risk Management Tools and Trends for the 2018 Farm Bill


Who:   Panel I

Mr. Bruce Rohwer, Farmer, Rohwer Farms, Paullina, Iowa

Mr. Kevin Scott, Owner/Operator, Evergreen Stock Farm, Valley Springs, S.D.

Mr. David Schemm, Farmer, Arrow S Farms, Sharon Springs, Kan.

Mr. Nick McMichen, Owner/Operator, McMichen Farms, Centre, Ala.

Mrs. Jennifer James, Owner/Operator, H & J Land Company, Newport, Ark


Panel II

Mr. Dan Atkisson, Owner/Operator, Atkisson Land & Cattle, Stockton, Kan.

Ms. Meredith Rogers, Farmer, Family Farm Partners, Camilla, Ga.

Mr. Robert Rynning, Owner/Operator, Robert Rynning Farms, Kennedy, Minn.

Mr. Ervin Schlemmer, Owner/Operator, Schlemmer Farms, Joliet, Mont.

Mr. Ken Nobis, Owner/Operator, Nobis Dairy Farm, Novi, Mich.


Panel III

Mr. Mark Haney, President, Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation, Louisville, Ky.

Mr. Roger Johnson, President, National Farmers Union, Washington, D.C.

Ms. Lindsey Lusher Shute, Hearty Roots Community Farm and Co-Founder & Executive Director, National Young Farmers Coalition, Hudson, N.Y.

Mr. William Cole, Stone Corner Farms and Chairman, Crop Insurance Professionals Association, Batesville, Miss.

Mr. Ron Rutledge, President & CEO, Farmers Mutual Hail Insurance Company of Iowa, West Des Moines, Iowa

Mrs. Mandy Minick, Washington State President, Northwest Farm Credit Services, Pasco, Wash.

Mrs. Brenda Kluesner, Loan Officer & Crop Insurance Manager, Royal Bank, Cassville, Wis.


Date:   Tuesday, July 25, 2017


Time:  8:30 a.m.


Place:  106 Dirksen Senate Office Building


***Please note: Press bringing audio/video equipment should check in with the Senate Radio-Television Gallery at radiotv.senate.gov or 202-224-6421. The hearing will be webcast live on ag.senate.gov.


Press Contact

Meghan Cline (Roberts): 202-224-2035

Jess McCarron (Stabenow): 202-224-1437