Skip to content

Chairwoman Stabenow Announces Staff Transitions

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Chairwoman of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, today announced that Eyang Garrison will become the new Majority Staff Director. Erica Chabot, currently serving as Staff Director, will transition off Capitol Hill later this month. The Committee also anticipates an announcement about senior staff support in the coming days.

“Eyang’s demonstrated accomplishments throughout her career, paired with her dedication to so many issues at the heart of agriculture policy, have been instrumental to our staff since she joined us in March,” said Stabenow. “Her earned reputation on and off the Hill will further bolster our efforts to move a strong Farm Bill that supports farmers, families, and our rural communities. Eyang will continue to provide important leadership in this critical time.”

“Erica joined our team last year at an important time – we needed to staff up and get ready for the Farm Bill ahead,” Stabenow continued. “A veteran of the Senate, Erica has brought a steady leadership hand in ensuring member engagement and participation in the Farm Bill drafting process. The Committee – and the Senate – will miss her expertise, but I know she is ready for her next challenge, and I thank her for her leadership.”

Garrison, a longtime agriculture and nutrition leader, has served on the Committee as Deputy Staff Director since March. She has previously held several positions at the U.S. Department of Agriculture and in Congress, most recently serving as Chief of Staff to former Deputy Secretary of Agriculture Jewel Bronaugh, and Deputy Chief of Staff and Legislative Director to then-Congresswoman Marcia Fudge (OH-11). She is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma.

Chabot is a 21-year veteran of Capitol Hill, serving for the last year as Staff Director for the Committee, and previously for former Senate Appropriations Committee Chairman Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), as Deputy Chief of Staff and Legislative Director. She also spent five years as the Communications Director on the Senate Judiciary Committee. She is a graduate of St. Michael’s College in Colchester, Vermont.

# # #