Skip to content
Field Hearing

Opportunities for Growth: Michigan and the 2012 Farm Bill

Time: 09:00am
Location: East Lansing, Michigan Kellogg Center, Michigan State University
Presiding: Debbie Stabenow

Panel 1: Welcome from Michigan State University

  • Dr. Lou Anna K. Simon

    Michigan State University
    East Lansing, MI
  • Dr. J. Ian Gray

    Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies
    Michigan State University
    East Lansing, MI
  • Dr. Thomas G. Coon

    Director of
    Michigan State University Extension
    East Lansing, MI

Panel 2: Michigan Agricultural Production and Farm Bill Principles

  • Mr. Clark Gerstacker

    Corn and Soybean Production
    Member, Michigan Corn Growers Association,
    Midland, MI
  • Mr. Ben LaCross

    Cherry Production; Chair
    American Farm Bureau, Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee
    Cedar, MI
  • Mr. Ray Van Driessche

    Sugar Beet Production and Conservation, Director of Community and Government Relations
    Michigan Sugar Company
    Bay City, MI
  • Ms. Julia Rothwell

    Apple Production, Chair
    U.S. Apple Association
    Belding, MI
  • Mr. Ken Nobis

    Dairy Production, President
    Michigan Milk Producers Association
    St. Johns, MI
  • Mr. Peter B. Blauwiekel

    Pork Production
    Member, Michigan Pork Producers Council
    Fowler, MI

Panel 3: Farm Bill Stakeholders in Michigan

  • Mrs. Karen Serfass

    Forestry Production; Past President
    Michigan Forest Association
    Dafter, MI
  • Ms. Kristen Holt

    President, Quality Assurance International (QAI)
    and Senior Vice President, Food Safety & Quality, NSF International
    Ann Arbor, MI
  • Mr. Eric Davis

    Director, Food Initiative
    United Way for Southeastern Michigan
    Detroit, MI
  • Mr. Dennis West

    Northern Initiatives
    Marquette, MI
  • Mr. James Reid

    Reid Dairy Farm
    Grant Township, MI
  • Mr. David Armstrong

    President and CEO
    Greenstone Farm Credit Services
    East Lansing, MI