Senate Ag Committee Leaders Mark One-Year Anniversary of Farm Bill

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kan., and Ranking Member Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., today released the following statements on the one-year anniversary of the signing of the 2018 Farm Bill on December 20. 

“With low prices and trade uncertainty, farmers and ranchers needed this farm bill, and I’m pleased we could provide a level of certainty and predictability,” said Roberts. “Once again, members of the Agriculture Committees put aside their differences and worked together to deliver for rural America. From protecting and strengthening crop insurance and agriculture research, to providing farmers in distress with mental health resources and their herds with more protection from deadly disease outbreaks, this bill touches the lives of every American.”

“The historic investments we made in the 2018 bipartisan Farm Bill are already making a real difference in Michigan,” said Stabenow. “From expanding markets for our farmers, to investing in our small towns and rural communities, to protecting the Great Lakes – Michigan really is on every page.”

On December 11, 2018, the Senate passed the Farm Bill, the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018 with a vote of 87-13. This is the most votes ever received by a single farm bill. A day later, the House approved the bill 369-47. 

The Farm Bill received widespread support from more than 900 agriculture groups throughout the country. 

Click here to learn more about the 2018 Farm Bill.


Press Contact

Meghan Cline (Roberts): 202-224-2035

Jess McCarron (Stabenow): 202-224-1437