Roberts, Stabenow Announce Witnesses for Nutrition Hearing

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kan., and Ranking Member Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., today announced witnesses for the Committee’s upcoming hearing on nutrition programs in the Farm Bill.


Title:         Nutrition Programs: Perspectives for the 2018 Farm Bill


Who:        Panel I

Mr. Brandon Lipps, Acting Deputy Under Secretary, Administrator, Food, Nutrition and Consumer Services, Food and Nutrition Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Washington, D.C.

Mr. Gil Harden, Assistant Inspector General for Audit, Office of Inspector General, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Washington, D.C.

Ms. Ann M. Coffey, Assistant Inspector General for Investigations, Office of Inspector General, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Washington, D.C.


Panel II

Mr. Sam Schaeffer, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director, Center for Employment Opportunities, New York, N.Y.

Mr. Bryan Parker, Community Food Bank of Eastern Oklahoma, Tulsa, Okla.

Mr. Jimmy Wright, President, Wright's Markets, Inc., Opelika, Ala.

Dr. Diane Schanzenbach, Director and Margaret Walker Alexander Professor, Institute for Policy Research, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.

Mr. Brian Riendeau, Executive Director, Dare to Care Food Bank, Louisville, Ky.


Date:         Thursday, Sept. 14, 2017


Time:        9:30 a.m.


Place:        216 Hart Senate Office Building


***Please note: Press bringing audio/video equipment should check in with the Senate Radio-Television Gallery at radiotv.senate.gov or 202-224-6421. The hearing will be webcast live on ag.senate.gov.


Press Contact

Meghan Cline (Roberts): 202-224-2035

Jess McCarron (Stabenow): 202-224-1437