Roberts, Stabenow Announce Unanimous Senate Passage of Grain Standards Reauthorization

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kan., and Ranking Member Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., today announced the Senate has passed the bipartisan U.S. Grain Standards Reauthorization Act of 2020.

The U.S. Grain Standards Reauthorization Act of 2020 passed out of Committee on June 24. The Senate-passed bill will be available here. Click here to read the summary. Click here to read the section-by-section.

“The Senate has unanimously approved the Grain Standards Reauthorization Act, which will allow America to continue fostering a healthy domestic grain market and positive relationships with our trading partners,” said Roberts. “As is tradition in the Senate Agriculture Committee, we worked in a bipartisan fashion to deliver certainty, predictability, and transparency for the federal grain inspection system and its stakeholders.”

“As our farmers face unprecedented uncertainty and trade instability, it is vital that we maintain the integrity of our grain inspection system,” said Stabenow. “This bipartisan bill protects the interests of American farmers and ensures our credibility as a reliable producer of high-quality crops.”

The U.S. Grain Standards Reauthorization Act of 2020 has wide industry support from national and state agriculture groups. Click here to read the letters of support.


Press Contact

Meghan Cline (Roberts): 202-224-2035

Jess McCarron (Stabenow): 202-224-1437