Roberts, Stabenow Announce Committee to Vote on Three USDA Nominees

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kan., and Ranking Member Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., today announced the Committee will hold a business meeting to consider three nominations within the U.S. Department of Agriculture.


Who:   Mindy Brashears to be Under Secretary of Agriculture for Food Safety

Naomi C. Earp to be an Assistant Secretary of Agriculture for Civil Rights      

Scott Hutchins to be Under Secretary of Agriculture for Research, Education, and Economics

Date:   Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Time:  In conjunction with floor votes, TBD

Place:  Location near the Senate floor, TBD


The Committee held a hearing on the nominees on November 28 in the last Congress.  The President renominated them in the 116th Congress and members were provided the opportunity to examine the nominations.




Press Contact

Meghan Cline (Roberts): 202-224-2035

Jess McCarron (Stabenow): 202-224-1437