Roberts, Stabenow Announce Committee Passage of Bipartisan National Bio and Agro-Defense Legislation, Lands Package

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kan., and Ranking Member Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., today announced the Committee passed their bipartisan legislation, S. 2695, the National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility (NBAF) Act of 2019, and a package of lands bills affecting acreage in Tennessee and Virginia. 

“Today’s passage of this legislation means we are one step closer to securing a more robust defense of our nation’s agriculture and food supply,” said Roberts. “The NBAF will be a critical part of America’s national security efforts, and I encourage the full Senate to take up this important legislation.” 

“The Agriculture Committee continues to work on a bipartisan basis to get things done,” said Stabenow. “The legislation we passed through committee is important in the critical effort to help safeguard our food supply from animal diseases and intentional threats. The lands package will improve public land management in Tennessee and Virginia, including protecting 5,600 acres of national forest land as wilderness.”

Roberts and Stabenow introduced S. 2695 on October 25, 2019. Cosponsors of the legislation include: Sens. Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich.; Chuck Grassley, R-Iowa; Jerry Moran, R-Kan.; Tina Smith, D-Minn.; Roy Blunt, R-Mo.; Joni Ernst, R-Iowa; Cindy Hyde-Smith, R-Miss.; John  Boozman, R-Ark.; Cory Gardner, R-Colo.; John Thune, R-S.D.; Deb Fischer, R-Neb.; Mike Braun, R-Ind.; Mitch McConnell, R-Ky.; John Hoeven, R-N.D.; Richard Shelby, R-Ala.; Pat Leahy, D-Vt.; John Tester, R-Mont.; Mike Crapo, R-Idaho; Bob Casey, D-Penn.; David Perdue, R-Ga.; Mike Rounds, R-S.D.; and Dick Durbin, D-Ill.

Click here to read more.

The Committee passed S. 2695, as amended by a manager’s amendment, on a voice vote. In the same business meeting, the Committee passed a bill to release a federal reversionary interest in Chester County, Tenn., and to manage certain Federal land in Bath County, Va., on a voice vote.



Press Contact

Meghan Cline (Roberts): 202-224-2035

Jess McCarron (Stabenow): 202-224-1437