Over One-Third of U.S. Senate Calls for Certainty for Ag Biotech in China Trade Talks

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Pat Roberts, Chairman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry, today led a bipartisan group of Senators in sending a letter to President Donald Trump supporting “the continued prioritization of a timely, transparent, and science-based system for the approvals of agricultural biotechnology products.” 

“Over the last few decades, advancements in research and the development of crop technologies in the U.S. have allowed producers to achieve higher yields, overcome weather challenges, and require fewer inputs, such as pesticide and nitrogen application. This innovation is significantly hindered by delays in China’s regulatory system, as producers who seek to access and compete in the global market risk rejection of shipments of grain and oilseeds,” the Senators wrote.

“We recognize the recent decision to suspend the scheduled tariff increase and look forward to resolving critical trade barriers in the ongoing negotiations. As you prepare to meet with President Xi, and your Administration continues negotiations on a U.S.-China trade agreement, we ask that you continue to prioritize a timely, transparent, and science-based system for the approval of agricultural biotechnology products.”

Click here to read the full letter. 

Roberts was joined by fellow Sens. Tammy Baldwin, D-Wis.; John Barrasso, R-Wyo.; Marsha Blackburn, R-Tenn.; Roy Blunt, R-Mo.; John Boozman, R-Ark.; Mike Braun, R-Ind.; Richard Burr, R-N.C.; Bill Cassidy, R-La.; Tom Carper, D-Del.; Chris Coons, D-Del.; John Cornyn, R-Texas; Kevin Cramer, R-N.D.; Mike Crapo, R-Idaho; Steve Daines, R-Mont.; Tammy Duckworth, D-Ill.; Richard Durbin, D-Ill.; Mike Enzi, R-Wyo.; Joni Ernst, R-Iowa; Deb Fischer, R-Neb.; Cory Gardner, R-Colo.; John Hoeven, R-N.D.; Cindy Hyde-Smith, R-Miss.; James Inhofe, R-Okla.; Doug Jones, D-Ala.; Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn.; Jerry Moran, R-Kan.; David Perdue, R-Ga.; Gary Peters, D-Mich.; Jim Risch, R-Idaho.; Mike Rounds, R-S.D.; Ben Sasse, R-Neb.; Tina Smith, D-Minn.; Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich.; John Thune, R-S.D.; Thom Tillis, R-N.C.; and Todd Young, R-Ind. 


Press Contact

Meghan Cline