Skip to content

Leadership of Agriculture Committees Issue Joint Statement on SNAP Payment Error Rate

WASHINGTON—The leadership of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry—Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) and Ranking Member John Boozman (R-AR)—along with the leadership of the House Committee on Agriculture—Chairman Glenn "GT" Thompson (R-PA) and Ranking Member David Scott (D-GA)—released the following statement on the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) error rate.

“The pandemic caused new challenges for USDA and states alike, who took measures to ensure access to SNAP. However, the national error rate as reported today is unacceptable and threatens the integrity of the program. We urge governors and administrators to promptly establish corrective action plans and continue to work with USDA to address the root causes of these errors to improve their program operations, remain accountable to the taxpayer, and most importantly, ensure that benefits are targeted to the people who are the most in need.”