Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow Welcomes Colleagues to Senate Ag Committee

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., Chairwoman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry, today issued the following statement as her appointment, and all committee assignments, were officially announced today by Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV) and Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY).

“I am so pleased to welcome all of our newly appointed Members to the Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry. Agriculture is critical to our economy and is helping to lead our recovery. I look forward to working with all of our Committee colleagues to help create new jobs and continue America’s leadership in this important sector.”

Members appointed to the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry today include:

Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
Tom Harkin (D-IA)
Kent Conrad (D-ND)
Max Baucus (D-MT)
Ben Nelson (D-NE)
Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Robert Casey (D-PA)
Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Michael Bennet (D-CO)
Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)

Pat Roberts (R-KS)
Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)
Richard Lugar (R-IN)
Thad Cochran (R-MS)
Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
Mike Johanns (R-NE)
John Boozman (R-AK)
Chuck Grassley (R-IA)
John Thune (R-SD)
John Hoeven (R-ND)