Skip to content

Senators Stabenow, Boozman Welcome Senate Confirmation of CFTC Commissioners

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Chairwoman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, and John Boozman (R-Ark.), Ranking Member, today announced the U.S. Senate confirmed Christy Goldsmith Romero, Kristin N. Johnson, Summer Kristine Mersinger, and Caroline D. Pham each to serve as Commissioners of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC). 

“This confirmation makes history because all four nominees are women, three of whom are women of color,” said Chairwoman Stabenow. “I look forward to working with each of them to ensure our financial markets are protected and work for all Americans. This is great news for the Commission, which will be brought back to full strength.”

“The Senate’s swift unanimous confirmation of these four nominees shows that they are highly qualified to serve as CFTC commissioners. I congratulate them on their confirmations, and look forward to working with them to ensure the traditional and emerging markets under the CFTC‘s jurisdiction operate in a fair and transparent manner,” said Ranking Member Boozman.

The Committee held a hearing on the CFTC Commissioners on March 2, 2022.