Skip to content

Senators Stabenow, Boozman Announce Hearing on Research Programs in the Next Farm Bill

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Chairwoman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, and John Boozman (R-Ark.), Ranking Member, today announced that the Committee will hold a hearing titled “Farm Bill 2023: Research Programs”.

Date:     Tuesday, December 6, 2022

Time:    10:00 AM ET 

Place:    328A Russell Senate Office Building


Panel 1

Dr. Chavonda Jacobs-Young; Under Secretary for Research, Education, and Economics and Chief Scientist, United States Department of Agriculture; Washington, DC

Panel 2:

Dr. Jason Rowntree, CS Mott Chair of Sustainable Agriculture; Director, MSU Center for Regenerative Agriculture; Professor, Department of Animal Science, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI

Dr. Felecia M. Nave, President, Office of the President, Alcorn State University, Lorman, MS       

Dr. Katy Martin Rainey, Associate Professor, Agronomy, Purdue University; Director, Purdue Soybean Center, West Lafayette, IN

Mr. Steven Ela, Partner and Manager, Ela Family Farms, Hotchkiss, CO

Dr. Deacue Fields, Vice President for Agriculture, University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture, Little Rock, AR        

*** Senate office buildings are not open to the public other than official business visitors and credentialed press at this time. Accordingly, the general public will not be allowed to attend the hearing.

Media Guidance: Congressionally-credentialed members of the media wishing to attend the hearing should RSVP to their respective gallery by 5:00 p.m. on December 5, 2022. Editorial presence will be limited due to social distancing requirements. Questions about coverage should be directed to respective congressional media galleries.

Daily print reporters should RSVP to Daily Press Gallery at 202-224-0241.

Periodical reporters should RSVP to Periodical Press Gallery at 202-224-0265.

Press photographers should RSVP to or 202-224-6548.

There is a mandatory TV pool. Contact the Senate Radio-TV Gallery 202-224-6421 for additional details.