Skip to content

Senate Agriculture Committee Advances Torres Small and Bonnie to be Under Secretaries of Agriculture

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Chairwoman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, and John Boozman (R-Ark.), Ranking Member, today announced that the Committee voted to advance Congresswoman Xochitl Torres Small to be Under Secretary of Agriculture for Rural Development and Mr. Robert Bonnie to be Under Secretary for Farm Production and Conservation.

“I’m pleased we’re making progress on getting Secretary Vilsack’s team in place,” said Chairwoman Stabenow. “Congresswoman Torres Small and Mr. Bonnie are incredibly well qualified and will be valuable advocates for our farmers, ranchers, foresters, and rural communities across America.”  

"Today’s votes to approve the nominations of former Congresswoman Xochitl Torres Small and Robert Bonnie show that the committee continues to adhere to its bipartisan tradition of working together in good faith to ensure a fair process for the president’s nominees. I expect that we will continue to act with the same positive bipartisan spirit when we return from the break and consider additional nominees, budget reconciliation and other legislation that come before our committee,” said Ranking Member Boozman.  

The Committee held a hearing on the nomination of Congresswoman Torres Small and Mr. Bonnie on July 29, 2021.