Skip to content

Senate Agriculture Committee Advances CFTC Commissioner Nominees

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Chairwoman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, and John Boozman (R-Ark.), Ranking Member, today announced the Committee voted to advance the nominations of Christy Goldsmith Romero, Kristin N. Johnson, Summer Kristine Mersinger, and Caroline D. Pham each to be a Commissioner of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission. They may now be considered by the entire U.S. Senate.

‘Our financial markets need to work for all Americans. These nominees are extremely qualified, and each would bring a unique perspective to their work at the CFTC, making them well-suited to protect our markets and those who use them,” said Senator Stabenow. “I am thrilled the committee advanced them with bipartisan support.”

“The CFTC, like any agency, is best served with a full slate of commissioners in place. I urge my colleagues to quickly consider the nominations of the four highly-qualified nominees we advanced today. Each brings diverse experiences and a broad range of knowledge that will add value to the CFTC commission. Once their nominations are approved by the Senate, they can get to work ensuring the markets the CFTC regulates continue to operate effectively, and in a fair and transparent manner,” said Ranking Member Boozman.