Skip to content

Senate Agriculture Committee Advances Behnam to be Chairman of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Chairwoman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, and John Boozman (R-Ark.), Ranking Member, today announced that the Committee voted to advance Rostin Behnam as Chairman and Commissioner of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC). Mr. Behnam has served as a Commissioner on the CFTC for the past four years and was nominated for a second term earlier this year.

“The quick vote to move Mr. Behnam forward as Chairman and Commissioner is a testament to strong bipartisan support for his nomination and the urgency we face in ensuring the CFTC is at full force. If confirmed, Chairman Behnam will oversee the CFTC at a time when our markets are undergoing a significant evolution. As we navigate what the future of financial markets looks like for farmers, families, and small businesses, I know we can trust Chairman Behnam’s leadership and expertise to protect our economy,” said Chairwoman Stabenow.   

“Rostin Behnam has proven himself to be a capable leader during his tenure as acting chairman of the CFTC. He is well-qualified, understands agriculture and brings a measured approach to regulating. I urge my colleagues to act swiftly to confirm Mr. Behnam so he can officially take helm of an agency that regulates a wide range of financial products that are essential tools for end users like farmers, ranchers, municipalities and pension funds,” said Ranking Member Boozman.

The Committee held a hearing on the nomination of Mr. Rostin Behnam on October 27, 2021.