Field Hearing

POSTPONED: Michigan and the 2012 Farm Bill

Date: Saturday, April 9, 2011 Time: 09:30 AM Location: Kellogg Center, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI Status: POSTPONED

There was no video broadcast for this event.


Panel 1: Welcome from Michigan State University

  1. Dr. Lou Anna K. Simon
    Michigan State University
    East Lansing, MI
  2. Dr. J. Ian Gray
    Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies
    Michigan State University
    East Lansing, MI
  3. Dr. Thomas G. Coon
    Director of
    Michigan State University Extension
    East Lansing, MI

Panel 2: Michigan Agricultural Production and Farm Bill Principles

  1. Mr. Clark Gerstacker
    Corn and Soybean Production
    Member, Michigan Corn Growers Association,
    Midland, MI
  2. Mr. Ben LaCross
    Cherry Production; Chair
    American Farm Bureau, Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee
    Cedar, MI
  3. Mr. Gene Meylan
    Sugarbeet Production Member
    Michigan Sugar Board
    Kawkawlin, MI
  4. Ms. Julia Rothwell
    Apple Production, Chair
    U.S. Apple Association
    Belding, MI
  5. Mr. Ken Nobis
    Dairy Production, President
    Michigan Milk Producers Association
    St. Johns, MI
  6. Mr. Peter B. Blauwiekel
    Pork Production
    Member, Michigan Pork Producers Council
    Fowler, MI

Panel 3: Farm Bill Stakeholders in Michigan

  1. Mrs. Karen Serfass
    Forestry Production; Past President
    Michigan Forest Association
    Dafter, MI
  2. Ms. Dona Syes Ponepinto
    Vice President Community Investments Basic Needs and Financial Stability Impact Areas
    United Way for Southeastern Michigan
    Detroit, MI
  3. Mr. Dennis West
    Northern Initiatives
    Marquette, MI
  4. Mr. James Reid
    Reid Dairy Farm
    Grant Township, MI
  5. Mr. David Armstrong
    President and CEO
    Greenstone Farm Credit Services
    East Lansing, MI