Stenographic Transcript Before the

COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, NUTRITION, AND FORESTRY

UNITED STATES SENATE

BUSINESS MEETING

Wednesday, May 21, 2025

Washington, D.C.

ALDERSON COURT REPORTING 1029 VERMONT AVE, NW 10TH FLOOR WASHINGTON, DC 20005 (202) 289-2260 www.aldersonreporting.com

1	BUSINESS MEETING
2	
3	Wednesday, May 21, 2025
4	
5	U.S. Senate
6	Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry
7	Washington, D.C.
8	
9	The committee met, pursuant to notice, at 6:41 p.m., in
10	Room S-216, President's Room, Hon. John Boozman, Chairman of
11	the Committee, presiding.
12	Present: Senators Boozman [presiding], McConnell,
13	Hoeven, Ernst, Hyde-Smith, Marshall, Tuberville, Justice,
14	Grassley, Thune, Fischer, Moran, Klobuchar, Bennet, Smith,
15	Luján, Warnock, and Schiff.
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	



1

OPENING STATEMENT OF SENATOR BOOZMAN

2 Chairman Boozman. I call the business meeting of the 3 Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry to 4 order.

5 The purpose of this meeting is to consider the 6 nominations Mr. Luke Lindberg to be the Under Secretary for 7 Trade and Foreign Agricultural Affairs and Mr. Devon 8 Westhill to be Assistant Secretary of Agriculture for Civil 9 Rights.

I support both of these individuals, and believe their qualifications and background in law, the private sector, and in Federal Government make them well suited for these roles.

I now recognize the distinguished Senator from Minnesota, Senator Klobuchar, for any comments she would like to make.

- 17
- 18

- 20
- 21
- 22

- 23
- 24
- 25



STATEMENT OF SENATOR KLOBUCHAR

2	Senator Klobuchar. Thank you, Mr. Chair.
3	I won't be supporting Mr. Westhill. I am going to be
4	supporting Mr. Lindberg. I think he is well qualified based
5	on his experience in his home state to be Under Secretary
6	for Trade. We are hopeful that he will work on expanding
7	our presence abroad and be a voice for sanity in trade
8	policy.
9	Chairman Boozman. Thank you, Senator Klobuchar.
10	Seeing a quorum is present, is there a motion to
11	proceed to consider the nominations?
12	Senator Tuberville. I so move.
13	Chairman Boozman. Thank you. Is there a second?
14	Senator Smith. Second.
15	Chairman Boozman. Thank you. Beginning with the
16	nomination of Luke Lindberg, the clerk will call the roll.
17	The Clerk. Senator Klobuchar?
18	Senator Klobuchar. Aye.
19	The Clerk. Senator Bennet?
20	Senator Bennett. Aye.
21	The Clerk. Senator Smith?
22	Senator Smith. Aye.
23	The Clerk. Senator Durbin?
24	Senator Klobuchar. Aye by proxy.
25	The Clerk. Senator Booker?



1	Senator Klobuchar. Aye by proxy.
2	The Clerk. Senator Luján?
3	Senator Luján. Aye.
4	The Clerk. Senator Warnock?
5	Senator Warnock. Aye.
6	The Clerk. Senator Welch?
7	Senator Klobuchar. Aye by proxy.
8	The Clerk. Senator Fetterman?
9	Senator Klobuchar. Aye by proxy.
10	The Clerk. Senator Schiff?
11	Senator Schiff. Aye.
12	The Clerk. Senator Slotkin?
13	Senator Klobuchar. Aye by proxy.
14	The Clerk. Senator McConnell?
15	Senator McConnell. Aye.
16	The Clerk. Senator Hoeven?
17	Senator Hoeven. Aye.
18	The Clerk. Senator Ernst?
19	Senator Ernst. Aye.
20	The Clerk. Senator Hyde-Smith?
21	Senator Hyde-Smith. Aye.
22	The Clerk. Senator Marshall?
23	Senator Marshall. Aye.
24	The Clerk. Senator Tuberville?
25	Senator Tuberville. Aye.



1	The Clerk. Senator Justice?
2	Senator Justice. Aye.
3	The Clerk. Senator Grassley?
4	Senator Grassley. Aye.
5	The Clerk. Senator Thune?
6	Senator Thune. Aye.
7	The Clerk. Senator Fischer?
8	Senator Fischer. Aye.
9	The Clerk. Senator Moran?
10	Senator Moran. Aye.
11	The Clerk. Senator Boozman?
12	Chairman Boozman. Aye.
13	The Clerk. The ayes are 23, the nays are 0.
14	Chairman Boozman. On this vote, the ayes are 23 and
15	the nays are 0. The nomination is approved.
16	We will now proceed to considering the nomination of
17	Devon Westhill. The clerk will call the roll.
18	The Clerk. Senator Klobuchar?
19	Senator Klobuchar. No.
20	The Clerk. Senator Bennet?
21	Senator Bennett. No.
22	The Clerk. Senator Smith?
23	Senator Smith. No.
24	The Clerk. Senator Durbin?
25	Senator Klobuchar. No by proxy.



1	The Clerk. Senator Booker?
2	Senator Klobuchar. No by proxy.
3	The Clerk. Senator Luján?
4	Senator Luján. No.
5	The Clerk. Senator Warnock?
б	Senator Warnock. No.
7	The Clerk. Senator Welch?
8	Senator Klobuchar. No by proxy.
9	The Clerk. Senator Fetterman?
10	Senator Klobuchar. No by proxy.
11	The Clerk. Senator Schiff?
12	Senator Schiff. No.
13	The Clerk. Senator Slotkin?
14	Senator Klobuchar. No by proxy.
15	The Clerk. Senator McConnell?
16	Senator McConnell. Aye.
17	The Clerk. Senator Hoeven?
18	Senator Hoeven. Aye.
19	The Clerk. Senator Ernst?
20	Senator Ernst. Aye.
21	The Clerk. Senator Hyde-Smith?
22	Senator Hyde-Smith. Aye.
23	The Clerk. Senator Marshall?
24	Senator Marshall. Aye.
25	The Clerk. Senator Tuberville?



1	Senator Tuberville. Aye.
2	The Clerk. Senator Justice?
3	Senator Justice. Aye.
4	The Clerk. Senator Grassley?
5	Senator Grassley. Aye.
6	The Clerk. Senator Thune?
7	Senator Thune. Aye.
8	The Clerk. Senator Fischer?
9	Senator Fischer. Aye.
10	The Clerk. Senator Moran?
11	Senator Moran. Aye.
12	The Clerk. Senator Boozman?
13	Chairman Boozman. Aye.
14	The Clerk. The ayes are 12, the nays are 11.
15	Senator Boozman. On this vote, the ayes are 12 and the
16	nays are 11. The nomination is approved.
17	Thank you. The business meeting is now adjourned.
18	[Whereupon, at 6:46 p.m., the Committee was adjourned.]
19	
20	
21	
25	
20 21 22 23 24	

